Just Right

My mama is a debutante, my dad’s a PhD

I spent some time in charm school, learning manners to a “t”

My grammar is impeccable, I know which fork to hold

My thank you notes were never late; I always fit the mold

And so you’d think I’d want a man who wore a fancy tie

Who starches all his dress shirts and goes first class when he flies

You might expect the country club would be my cup of tea

But if you think that’s who I am then you must not know me

Cause the man who’s gonna steal my heart won’t need things that are fine

His hands, they can be callused if they’re holding on to mine

I don’t need a pedigree, just hold me every night

A tough and tender man who really loves will be just right

It’s been awhile since I’ve been young, and the fairy tales are gone

And I don’t need the trappings, just a passion fierce and strong

Yeah, the man I dream of now finds his joy in simple things

And a smile or kiss from him can give my heart it’s wings

Cause the man who’s gonna steal my heart won’t need things that are fine

His hands, they can be callused if they’re holding on to mine

I don’t need a pedigree, just hold me every night

A tough and tender man who really loves will be just right

Leave a Reply

