So Many Blessings

Feeling a little more pensive today…

Smile-through-tears

At times I sail through golden days

Soaking in the joyful ways

Music flowing out of me

And smiling over what could be

 

An easy laugh, a clever word

Flitting like a hummingbird

Creative and connected and heart-free

 

But the lonely night, they always come

And reminders of where grief comes from

The aching arms, the empty soul

And the fear I’ll never become whole

 

Then as tears fall, I reach for what I know

And in sorrow, reminders start to grow

And though I may not have the what or who I think I need

I can count so many blessings till my heavy heart is freed

So many blessings

 

Sometimes the memories are dark

And I can’t find a single spark

Invisible I take each breath

At times it seems a living death

 

But when I look beyond the veil

I realize even when I fail

My life is worth to be lived

And there is love that’s left to give

 

Then as tears fall, I reach for what I know

And in sorrow, reminders start to grow

And though I may not have the what or who I think I need

I can count so many blessings till my heavy heart is freed

So many blessings

Leave a Reply

