Knocking on the Door of My Dreams

I am NOT a songwriter, so I have no idea how this happened. But here ya go

girl,vintage,photography,blackandwhite,cute,dreaming-707ac12b6325630960f8fa88324c4007_h

I can hear your voice at the edge of my mind

When I close my eyes you’re lookin so fine

And I toss and turn and flirt while I’m chasing sleep

 

When the moon is high my spirits are low

Cause the pace of this dream is too damn slow

And I don’t wanna wake till I’m already in to deep

 

So I roll back over with a sweet little smile

And I let my mind wander round you awhile

While the story in my head takes a romantic theme

Cause you’re knocking on the door of my dreams

 

Boy you don’t have to knock, just come right in

Cause it sure is good for me to see you again

You can hold me here till the morning light

I’ll take care of you and I’ll treat you right

Then all day tomorrow I’ll smile when remembering scenes

From the things we did when you knocked on the door of my dreams

 

Now I’m sitting at work and the day is slow

Cause my mind knows exactly where it wants to go

So I tell myself, “buckle down and hold on tight”

 

And I keep real busy with my work deadlines

And I sing with Carrie, belting every line

As I’m driving home, and I’m waiting for the dark moonlight.

 

Then the evening passes and I climb in bed

I turn out the light and lay down my head

And my eyes get heavy; so you know exactly what that means:

You’ll be knocking on the door of my dreams

 

Boy you don’t have to knock, just come right in

Cause it sure is good for me to see you again

You can hold me here till the morning light

I’ll take care of you and I’ll treat you right

Then all day tomorrow I’ll smile when remembering scenes

From the things we did when you knocked on the door of my dreams

Leave a Reply

