If I could

159761832

“If you could do anything you wanted right now, if you could live whatever moment you wanted to, what would it be?” He asked as they sat on the faded old bench.

She looked out across the horizon knowing he was just making conversation but wishing she could say whatever she wanted.  “Well, let’s see…”

I’d like to go fishing and catch one or two

To spend a few hours just talking with you

To know what it felt like if you were to take my hand

I’d like to pour you a drink or bring you a beer

To hear your voice tell me what I need to hear

To feel like a woman while making you feel like a man

I’d like to know what it feels like to be in your arms

To get drunk with kisses and, be weak with your charms

To take in the moonlight reflected in each of your eyes

If I could make a few memories and live a few dreams

I’m pretty darn sure you’re as good as you seem

I know it sounds crazy, I know what I’m saying ain’t wise

But it’s a wish I just can’t quite disguise

I see your expression, and I’ve said too much

But I must be honest; I’m craving your touch

I hope you’ll forgive me for wanting to feel you this way

You don’t have to answer, I already know

And though it’s not fair I don’t want you to go

And yes I’ll admit that my heart’s feeling lonely today

But baby, I’d like you to stay

Baby I’d like you to stay

Now please don’t you worry when you say goodbye

For my sake don’t notice the tears in my eyes

And though I’m not sorry, I know that my dreams are no good

But that’s what I’d do if I could

“You still here?” He asked, chuckling.  “Is that a hard question?”

She turned to him, smiling.  “Fishing,” she said.  “I’d love to go fishing.”

 

Leave a Reply

