the dress

Image

 

One warm day in

Another life

I bought a sundress

With thin white straps,

And a high waist of white,

with orange colored fabric

That was scattered with white flowers

And a skirt with just a hint of

Flair

That skimmed above the knee.

I had a dream

A fantasy really

That had no tangible basis

Of wearing it, 

Holding down the skirt

With hands clasped in front

To prevent the breeze from catching it

As I waited at the small ariport

For a dinner date.

Today I tried it on.

In a bittersweet moment

I realized it was too big now,

So I took it to the thrift store,

The tags still attached.

The little lady

With southern grace

Was happy that I brought it by.

And yes, as I

Drove away,

I still had a lingering regret

That I never got to wear it….

Just once.

Leave a Reply

