Peanut Butter Hands

Little Peanut Butter Hands attack me from all sides.

I need the break from hands that only solitude provides.

Singing, dancing, drumming, playing, skirmishes and whines.

It in the moments like this one that for the beach I pine.

I love their happy faces, just not when they’re quite so close.

I think the problem may be that I took too high a dose

Of restless summer days and children asking for a snack.

Some days I think I’ll run away and maybe…..not come back.

But hey, the hours left of this are only forty eight.

The peanut butter will be gone and I can sleep till 8:00.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Hands

  1. :…Of restless summer days and children asking for a snack.

    Some days I think I’ll run away and maybe…..not come back.”

    🙂

Leave a Reply

